为什么选择迈克尔·格雷夫斯学院?

为什么选择现在?为什么选择肯恩?

关于迈克尔·格雷夫斯学院的公开立场的说明

肯恩大学的迈克尔·格雷夫斯学院致力于改变建筑和设计教育,使其对更广泛的公众有意义。

建筑和设计本质上是公共艺术和人文艺术。然而,这些学科往往远离公众,尤其是在教育领域。这造成了一些不好的影响,在那些接受过改善公共环境培训的人与使用公共环境的人之间产生了距离。

虽然在设计过程中需要专门的指导, 但也需要为这一努力提供有意义的背景。如果建筑和设计要重申它们在为人们创造更好的体验和场所方面的作用,那么不断地适应这些学科是至关重要的。因此,迈克尔·格雷夫斯学院的项目在几个层次上使用了广泛的公共设计背景,作为灵感,作为工具,最终作为一个目标。

设计和架构工作的相互关联的规程是这项工作的重要资产。迈克尔·格雷夫斯学院由两个学院组成。罗伯特•布希设计学院已开设广告设计、平面设计、工业设计和室内设计等项目。公共建筑学院提供建筑学学位,并计划研究生专业学位。这些项目为两所学院提供了一个机会,在不同规模的公共设计工作中协同合作。

该项目采用了一种“工作室”教学模式:它强调设计企业的整体整合,而不是将设计过程划分为离散的课程元素。

正如普利兹克奖得主阿尔瓦罗•西扎(Alvaro Siza)曾经指出的那样,建筑师和设计师“……是非专业人士的专家”。”这样的形成和应用程序设计语言是建立在广泛的基础知识:不仅仅是一个建筑设计的专业技术方面, 而是广泛的公众意识,塑造一个项目的力量,它的环境,和它想要解决的问题。

我们的教育将是一种“第一人称”教育:通过直接参与、观察、记录和分析构成建筑环境的场所、空间、建筑和体验,并通过与使用这些环境的人们讨论来学习。

它通过将一个名为“K-LABS”的工作室引进大型拓展项目纳入课程和学院文化,解决了长期以来对这些领域教育范式的批评。这些研究和设计项目存在于设计工作室内外。在教师的带领下,他们以一种与工作世界产生共鸣的方式,将学生融入到既定好的项目中:与客户和顾问的接触,有区别的责任,公开陈述和责任。

肯恩大学为这所新学院提供了大量的资产。从地理位置上看,它位于一个主要的大都市区,从人口密集的城市到郊区城镇再到乡村村庄,各种各样的居住地都很容易到达。肯恩自己的校园位于三个不同城市的边界,既有校园内的历史建筑,也与之毗邻历史建筑。因此,承接不同类型和规模的外联项目的潜力是巨大的。

与迈克尔·格雷夫斯(Michael Graves)的关系非常适合这所新大学。格雷夫斯在20世纪后期重新定义了专业实践的概念,从城市和建筑到物品和人工制品,他在多个尺度上进行了设计。肯恩大学的迈克尔·格雷夫斯学院(Michael Graves College at Kean University)的各种项目很好地体现了这一理念,从工业和室内设计到平面设计和建筑设计。格雷夫斯的遗产将包括他对高质量的设计教育的承诺,他对各种规模的交互的兴趣,他的作品以及他自己个人设计语言吸引了广泛的观众。随着21世纪的到来,建筑和设计应该如何被教授和产生,我们很自豪地在这个概念化的基础上建立起来。

此外,肯恩大学由于其在中国的姊妹机构温州肯恩大学,在全球拥有相当大的影响力。设计和建筑课程都将在温州开设,每个校区的教师和学生都将与来自其他院校的同行进行交流。当然国际旅行和学习的其他机会也在准备之中。

强调建筑和设计的人文主义品质允许重新调整支持学科的技术。虽然计算机是一种了不起的工具,但它在多大程度上取代了利用手、眼睛和大脑的设计方法,需要重新校准。我们的项目将平衡这些经验和概念上的思考和制作手段,以更好地代表和吸引更广泛的观众。最后,我们相信我们的专业,包括教师和学生,都可以成为优质的资源,以提高和改善建筑环境和人们在其中的经验。此外,我们可以以一种与学院的学术计划相结合的方式实施。我们认为,这与绝大多数专业课程完全不同,因此可以为那些想要与公众接触、想要让公众生活并改善世界的学生提供一个有意义的选择。

想要更多的信息吗?通过拨打这个电话:908-737-4770,预约与Dean Mohney院长的谈话。

Why the Michael Graves College?

Why now? And why at Kean?

A Public Position Paper on the Michael Graves College

The Michael Graves College at Kean University is a committed effort to transform architectural and design education by making it meaningful to a wider public.

Architecture and Design are inherently public and humanist arts. Yet the disciplines too often have situated themselves remotely from the public, particularly in education. This has had a deleterious affect, creating a distance between those people trained to enhance the public environment, and those who use it.

While there is a need for specialized instruction in aspects of the design process, there is also the need to provide a meaningful context for that effort. Continual acculturation of these disciplines is critical if Architecture and Design are to reaffirm their role in creating better experiences and places for people. Thus the programs of the Michael Graves College use the broad public context of design at several levels: as inspiration, as a tool, and ultimately, as a goal.

The interlocking disciplines of design and architecture endeavors are a significant asset in this effort. The Michael Graves College consists of two schools. The Robert Busch School of Design has recognized programs in Advertising Design, Graphic Design, Industrial Design and Interior Design. The School of Public Architecture offers a degree in architectural studies and plans a graduate professional degree as well. Together, these programs afford the college the opportunity to address public design efforts
at a variety of scales, synergistically.

The program utilizes an ‘atelier’ pedagogical model: rather than dividing up the design process into discrete curricular elements,
it stresses the holistic integration of the design enterprise.
As Pritzker Prize winner Alvaro Siza once noted, architects and designers “… are specialists at being non-specialists.” Thus the formation and application of a design language is predicated on a broad base of knowledge: not just the professional and technical aspects of a building design, but the broader public awareness of the forces that shape a project, its environs, and the issues it is intended to address.

Ours will be a ‘first-person’ education: learning by direct engagement, observation, documentation, and analysis of the places, spaces, buildings and experiences that form the built environment – and through discussion with the general public
that use them.

It addresses longstanding criticisms of educational paradigms in these fields by incorporating a substantial outreach program – called “K-LABS” – into both the curriculum and the culture of the college. These research and design projects exist both outside and inside the design studio. Led by faculty, they integrate students into defined projects in a manner that resonates with the working world: engagement with clients and consultants, differentiated responsibilities, public presentation and accountability.

Kean University affords substantial assets for this new college. Geographically, it is located in a major metropolitan area, with the full range of habitation patterns readily accessible, from densely urban cities to suburban towns to rural hamlets. Kean’s own campus is situated at the border of three different municipalities, with historic structures both on campus and adjacent to it. Thus the potential to take on outreach projects of different types and scales is high.

The association with Michael Graves is profoundly appropriate
for this new college. Graves redefined an idea of professional practice in the late 20th century by addressing design at multiple scales, from urban and building to object and artifact. The varied programs that comprise the Michael Graves College at Kean University represent this idea well, from industrial and interior
design to graphic and architectural design. Graves’ legacy will consist of his commitment to high-quality design education, his interest in all scales of interaction, his engagement of a wide
public audience for his work, as well as his own personal design language. We are proud to build upon this conceptualization of
how architecture and design should be taught and produced
as the 21st century unfolds.

Furthermore, Kean University has a substantial global presence through its sister institution, Wenzhou Kean University in China.
The programs in Design and Architecture will be offered in Wenzhou, and both faculty and students from each campus
will engage with their counterparts from the other institution.
Other opportunities for international travel and study are in preparation as well.

Emphasis on the humanist qualities of Architecture and Design allows for a recalibration of the technologies that support the disciplines. While the computer is a remarkable tool, the degree to which it has supplanted design methods that utilize the hand, eye, and brain needs recalibration. Our programs will balance these experiential and conceptual means of thinking and producing to better represent and engage the wider public audience. In the end, we believe that our programs, including faculty and students alike, can be resources to enhance and improve the built environment and the experiences of people within them. Furthermore, we can do so in a manner that in integral to the academic program of the college. We believe that this is radically different from the vast majority of professional programs, and thus can provide a meaningful alternative to students who want to engage with the public and how it lives in and enhances the world.

Want More Information? Make an appointment to talk with Dean Mohney by calling this number: 908-737-4770.