National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards. Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Wenzhou-Kean University School of Public Architecture is in the initial candidacy phase for offering the following NAAB-accredited degree program:
(If an institution offers more than one track for an M. Arch. or D. Arch. based on the type of undergraduate/preparatory education required, all tracks should be listed separately.)

Master of Architecture (preprofessional degree + 55 graduate credit hours)

Accreditation visit: 2019

Initial Candidacy granted: 2020

In order to promote transparency in the process of accreditation in architecture education, the following documents are available to the public as they are prepared as part of the candidacy process in the Executive Director’s Office, located on the 3rd floor of the General Education Building (GEH A313):

Also available are the NAAB Current Conditions and Procedures for Accreditation.